Monday, September 1, 2014

Don't Try to Find Me

Rachel comes home from her job and finds a note from her daughter, "Don't Try to Find Me.." written on the whiteboard.  Her daughter, Marley, is 14 and has run away from home.  The point-of-view switches between Marley and her mom Rachel.  It also changes from months before Marley goes missing and in the days after.  The twist in all of this comes as you learn more and more about the narrators and you have to decide who can you trust? Are either of them a reliable narrator?

In the days following Marley's disappearance her parents, led by her father, put on a whole out social media frenzy in attempt to find her.  As they get more and more exposure, more details emerge about Rachel and her relationship with another man and other parts of her life that lead the police to think of her as a person of interest. 

In theory this is a book that I would really enjoy.  In reality it took me over two weeks to read it.  It just didn't hold my interest, was way to predictable and I just didn't get into it.  I honestly think I will end the month of August with possibly one book read, this being it. 

There's nothing wrong with the story.  It has unreliable narrators, a bit of a mystery that slowly explains itself and it has some pretty sad characters.  It's not a perfectly put together mystery and there are bad things that happen. If I read it at a different time, perhaps I'd think differently.

Description: When a 14-year-old runs away, her parents turn to social media to find her-launching a public campaign that will expose their darkest secrets and change their family forever, in this suspenseful and gripping debut for fans of Reconstructing Amelia and Gone Girl

Don't try to find me. Though the message on the kitchen white board is written in Marley's hand, her mother Rachel knows there has to be some other explanation. Marley would never run away.

As the days pass and it sinks in that the impossible has occurred, Rachel and her husband Paul are informed that the police have "limited resources." If they want their 14-year-old daughter back, they will have to find her themselves. Desperation becomes determination when Paul turns to Facebook and Twitter, and launches

But Marley isn't the only one with secrets.

With public exposure comes scrutiny, and when Rachel blows a television interview, the dirty speculation begins. Now, the blogosphere is convinced Rachel is hiding something. It's not what they think; Rachel would never hurt Marley. Not intentionally, anyway. But when it's discovered that she's lied, even to the police, the devoted mother becomes a suspect in Marley's disappearance.

Is Marley out there somewhere, watching it all happen, or is the truth something far worse.

Do you like books with unreliable narrators? Do you think using social media to find lost/missing people is helpful or does it possibly hinder the process?

I was given a copy of this book by the publisher for review. All thoughts and opinions are mine.

No comments: